Today : Tuesday - Sep 23, 2014, 01:51pm (GMT+5.5)
All News  
Top News
National News
International News
Business News
Sports News
   » Cricket
   » Football
Entertainment News
Sci - Tech
Politics News
Health & Fitness
Gulf News
::| Latest News
News in Pictures

Seemingly unfazed at being ousted from the Asian Athletics Association, scam-tainted Suresh Kalmadi on Monday said losing the presidential re-election bid to Qatar’s Dahlan Jumaan Al-Hamad has actually given him a chance to work at the “grassroots” level.
“I have no issues today and I congratulate Mr Al-Hamad for being elected as President. I am rather relieved that I will be able to work at the grassroots level in athletics,” Mr. Kalmadi said after losing the vote during the ongoing AAA Congress in Pune.

Sports News

Team Tata dominate Hornbill Rally

Friday - Dec 07, 2012, 12:25pm (GMT+5.5)
[+] Text [-]

Kohima - Team Tata Motors dominated the fourth round of the JK Tyre-FMSCI Indian National TSD Rally Championship as Bangalore-based husband-wife combination of Satish Gopalkrishnan and Savera D’Souza emerged winners in the Overall and Pro-Expert categories here Thursday.

Gopalkrishnan and Savera, winners of the first round in Bangalore, picked up 25 points that moved them from third to second in the Overall standings with a tally of 60, behind leaders Karthick Maruthi and Sankar Anand (Team Mahindra) from Erode who finished seventh overall but fifth in the class.

In the Pro-Stock class, another Bangalore pair of Chidananda Murthy and navigator Sujith Kumar BS, also of Tata Motors Full Throttle team topped the charts followed by team-mates Kanth Gowda and Kuriakose Elias Parel and MD Ganesh Moorthy and M Prakash.

Full Throttle also swept more awards as the team was adjudged “Best Institution” while its team members Dimapur’s Philip Lam was declared Best Navigator and Tsote Their of Kohima, driving a Tata Xenon won the special award for “Maximum Zero” penalties.

Adding to Full Throttle’s silverware was Nitoka Chopy and Philip Lam from Dimapur in a Tata Indica, who won the top honours in the Novice class.

“We had a good outing and the route was excellent with a good mix of tarmac and dirt. Also, the pace was fairly brisk and that made it exciting.

“Also, the warmth and goodwill of the local people here, besides of course the Hornbill Festival, added to the ambience. We really enjoyed the event,” said Gopalkrishnan who along with Savera is acknowledged as one of the top pairings in the Time-Speed-Distance format of rallying.

The Bangalore duo, driving a Tata Indica Vista, returned a penalty time of 46 seconds, finished seven seconds ahead of private entrants Nirmal Das and Chandan Sen in a Maruti Gypsy while Jagmeet Gill and Yogesh Gupta of Team Volkswagen and driving a Vento, finished third in one minute, one second.

Murthy and Sujith, recorded their third outright win in the Pro-Stock class following their triumphs in Bangalore and Ranchi to take their championship tally to 90 points.

“We tried a new formula for our calculations and it worked. Thanks to Satish (Gopalkrishnan), we were able to try out this option and obviously, we are happy to have won here. The route and terrain were just perfect,” said Sujith.

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and his Cabinet colleagues presided over the prize-distribution function.

The results (provisional):
Overall/Pro-Expert: Satish Gopalkrishnan / Savera D’Souza (Team Tata Motors Full Throttle) 1 (46secs); Nirmalya Das / Chandan Das (Pvt) 2 (00:00:53); Jagmeet Gill / Yogesh Gupta (Volkswagen) 3 (00:01:01).

Pro-Stock: Chidananda Murthy / Sujith Kumar BS (Team Tata Motors Full Throttle) 1 (00:01:12); Kanth Gowda / Kuriakose Elias Parel (Team Tata Motors Full Throttle) 2 (00:01:18); MD Ganesh Moorthy / M Prakash (Pvt) 3 (00:02:05).

Novice: Nitoka Chopy / Philip Lam (Team Tata Motors Full Throttle) 1 (00:14:19); Tokavi Hojo / Adu Keditsu (Pvt) 2 (00:16:05); S Moa / Y Temong (Pvt) 3 (00:21:58).

Best Institution: Team Tata Motors Full Throttle. Maximum Zero In Rally: Tstote Therie (Team Tata Motors Full Throttle).


Rating (Votes: )   

blog comments powered by Disqus

Other Articles:
Nick Compton awestruck at Cook show (7th Dec, 2012)
IOA president Chautala gets down to business (7th Dec, 2012)
India fielding coach defends Pujara for spilling Cook (7th Dec, 2012)
England opener Compton 'disappointed' at being given out (7th Dec, 2012)
Stripping Krivelyova of Athens medal 'dubious': Coach (7th Dec, 2012)
Alastair 'cooks' masterly knock to put England in command (7th Dec, 2012)
Raikkonen confident of challenging for F1 title next season if provided with fast car (6th Dec, 2012)
Adriana Lima shows how she belted off her baby weight (6th Dec, 2012)
Katie Price `dating rugby star Gavin Henson` (6th Dec, 2012)
'Disgraced' Armstrong to keep Olympic bronze medal for sometime (6th Dec, 2012)
Champions Trophy: India continue dream run, reach semis (6th Dec, 2012)
I’ll quit X Factor, says Nicole Scherzinger (6th Dec, 2012)
Pak Olympic Association urges sports authorities to 'pull up their socks' following Indian ban (6th Dec, 2012)
Tamara Ecclestone stocks up on healthy food on NYC trip (6th Dec, 2012)
Floodlights used in Test at Eden for first time (6th Dec, 2012)
Bhanot to explain legal status of his cases to IOC (6th Dec, 2012)
Moscow unveils 2013 World Athletics mascot (6th Dec, 2012)
Dhoni embraces curator, calls him 'boss of Eden' (6th Dec, 2012)
Chautala elected IOA president, Bhanot secretary general (6th Dec, 2012)
A 64 vehicles start Hornbill Rally (6th Dec, 2012)
Champions Trophy: India look to settle scores with Belgium (5th Dec, 2012)
Tamara Ecclestone left shaken by ex’s actions (5th Dec, 2012)
Katie Price knows she’ll never be voted best dressed by critics (5th Dec, 2012)
`Player of the year` Rory McIlroy hails girlfriend Caroline Wozniacki as inspiration (5th Dec, 2012)
Kate Upton goes topless in new video shoot (5th Dec, 2012)

Contact Us | Advertise with Us | Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Terms of Use