9:34 am - Monday June 17, 2024


Long Service and Good Conduct Medal

Period : 26 February 1957

Awarded to non-commissioned officers below the rank of dafadar/havildar or below the ranks of petty officer/corporal and to enlisted personnel for fifteen years of distinguished service. When originally established in 1957, the requirements for award were eighteen years in the army and air force and only fifteen years for the navy; in 1970, the requisite period of service was standardized across services at fifteen years. There seems to have been a quota system governing the total number of awards that could be issued, but this formula for this is unclear. It is also unclear from the available regulations how service that qualifies for the various post-1971 long service medals relates to this award.

Established: 26 February 1957, by the President of India (with effect from 25 March 1953). Amended 18 September 1969 to revise the ribbon and on 17 September 1970 to reduce the qualifying period.

Obverse: Circular 36-mm silver medal, the national emblem within an ornate rim. Suspended from an ornate swiveling straight-bar suspender. The medal is normally named on the edge.

Reverse: Within an ornate lotus-wreath, the circular legend "FOR LONG SERVICE AND GOOD CONDUCT Ö" and, within this circular legend, the Hindi legend "Dirgh seva / - aur - / sadacharan ke / - liye".

Ribbon: FIRST RIBBON: 31 mm, claret with 4 mm white edge stripes; white 4 mm, 23 mm, white 4 mm. SECOND RIBBON: 32 mm, medium gray with 2.5 mm white edge stripes and narrow (2 mm each) edge stripes (reading inward) of red, dark blue, and light blue; white 2.5 mm, red 2 mm, dark blue 2 mm, light blue 2 mm, light blue 2 mm, dark blue 2 mm, red 2 mm, medium gray 15 mm, white 2.5 mm.


first ribbon (1957-69)

second ribbon (1969--)


Other Categories

Long Service and Good Conduct Medal

Main Categories

Param Vir Chakra
Ashoka Chakra
Maha Vir Chakra
Kirti Chakra
Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vir Chakra
Shaurya Chakra
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Gallantry
Sena Medal