9:02 pm - Thursday July 18, 2024


Param Vir Chakra

The highest decoration for valour is the Param Vir chakra which is awarded for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or preeminent act of valour self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy, whether on the land,at sea or in the air.The decoration is made of bronze and is circular in shape.it has, on the obverse ,four replicas of "Indra's Vajra" embossed round the state emblem in the center. On the reverse the words "Param Vir Chakra" are embossed both in Hindi and English with two lotus flowers in the middle. Four Kargil war heroes were awarded the highest gallantry award on January 26, 2000 for displaying the valour of the highest order during operation Vijay. While Caption Vikram Batra and Lt. Manoj Pandey were awarded PVC posthumously, Grenadier Yogendra Singh and Riflemen Sanjay Kumar received the award from the President, Mr. K.R. Narayanan in person.

Prominent Recipients

Somnath Sharma
Naik Jadunath Singh
The Battle of Tithwal Lance Naik Karam Singh
Havildar Major Piru Singh
The Last Charge Subedar Joginder Singh
Inspiring Leadership Major Shaitan Singh
Major Dhan Singh Thapa
Gunning for the Enemy Havaldar Abdul Hamid
Till the last breath Lt.Col Tarapore
A Solo Effort Lance Naik Ekka
An Inspiration To His Men Major Hoshiar Singh
Saviour of Srinagar flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon
Bana's Rescue Mission Naib Subedar Bana Singh
Ambushed Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran
Young Hero Captain Vikram Batra
A Dare Devil Leader Lt. Manoj KUmar Pandey
Grenadiers Charge grenadier Yogendier Singh Yadav
A Cliff Hanger Rifleman Sanjay Kumar
In the Heart of Africa Captain Gurubachan Singh Salaria
A Tireless Soldier Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane
2nd Lt. Arun Khetarpal

Other Categories

Param Vir Chakra
Ashoka Chakra
Maha Vir Chakra
Kirti Chakra
Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vir Chakra
Shaurya Chakra
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Gallantry
Sena Medal
Nao Sena Medal
Vishisht Seva Medal
Indian Police Medal for Gallantry
Police Medal for Gallantry
Home Guards and Civil Defense Medal for Gallantry
General Service Medal
Samanya Seva Medal
Samar Seva Star
Poorvi Star
Paschimi Star
Siachen Glacier Medal
Punjab Ribbon
Special Service Medal
Raksha Medal
Sangram Medal
Sainya Seva Medal
High Altitude Service Medal
Police (Special Duty) Medal
Videsh Seva Medal
Meritorious Service Medal
Long Service and Good Conduct Medal
Indian Police Medal for Meritorious Service
Police Medal for Meritorious Service
Jeevan Raksha Padak
Territorial Army Decoration
Territorial Army Medal
Indian Independence Medal
50th Independence Anniversary Medal
25th Independence Anniversary Medal
30 Years Long Service Medal
20 Years Long Service Medal
Yudh Seva Medal
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Distinguished Service
President's Home Guards and Civil Defence Medal for Distinguished Service