5:16 pm - Tuesday May 23, 7550


Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak

Awarded to civilians to recognize acts of lifesaving, including cases of drowning, fire, or mine accidents "for conspicuous courage under circumstances of very great danger to the life of the rescue." The only cases in which members of the armed forces, police, or fire services can be awarded the medal is when such acts take place outside the course of their duty. The medal may be awarded posthumously and subsequent awards are recognized by the addition of a bar to the medal ribbon.

Prominent Recipients

Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak

Other Categories

Param Vir Chakra
Ashoka Chakra
Maha Vir Chakra
Kirti Chakra
Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vir Chakra
Shaurya Chakra
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Gallantry
Sena Medal
Nao Sena Medal
Vishisht Seva Medal
Indian Police Medal for Gallantry
Police Medal for Gallantry
Home Guards and Civil Defense Medal for Gallantry
General Service Medal
Samanya Seva Medal
Samar Seva Star
Poorvi Star
Paschimi Star
Siachen Glacier Medal
Punjab Ribbon
Special Service Medal
Raksha Medal
Sangram Medal
Sainya Seva Medal
High Altitude Service Medal
Police (Special Duty) Medal
Videsh Seva Medal
Meritorious Service Medal
Long Service and Good Conduct Medal
Indian Police Medal for Meritorious Service
Police Medal for Meritorious Service
Jeevan Raksha Padak
Territorial Army Decoration
Territorial Army Medal
Indian Independence Medal
50th Independence Anniversary Medal
25th Independence Anniversary Medal
30 Years Long Service Medal
20 Years Long Service Medal
Yudh Seva Medal
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Distinguished Service
President's Home Guards and Civil Defence Medal for Distinguished Service