5:35 am - Thursday October 21, 2021

Indians Abroard

Salman Rushdie

The famous writer Salman Rushdie was born in Mumbai, India. In his writings, he uses tales from various genres - fantasy, mythology, religion and oral tradition. Though most of his books have been subject of controversies, in the year 1988 Salman Rushdie came in the eye of storm with the publication of the "Satanic Verses" for its alleged blasphemous remarks on Islam and the Prophet. The entire Muslim world was enraged at the publication of the Satanic Verses. This led to the declaration of death sentence on him by Ayatollah Khomeini, the then religious sovereign of Iran. Following this Salman Rushdie went into hiding in London.

Rushdie's work Midnight's Children was awarded the Bookers' prize in 1993 and brought him international fame. In 1996 Salman Rushdie received the European Union Literary Award in Denmark. His other famous works are Grimus, Shame, Essays and Criticism, Wizard of oz, The moor's last sigh, The ground beneath her feet, Fury, Step across this line etc.

Salman Rushdie was born in 1947 in a Muslim family of Bombay. His father was a Cambridge-educated businessman. At the age of fourteen, Rushdie was sent to Rugby School in England. In 1964 Rushdie's parents moved to Karachi, Pakistan. Rushdie continued his studies at King's College, Cambridge, where he graduated in history with honors. After graduating in 1968 he worked for sometime in television in Pakistan. In between he also worked for Ogilvy and Mather and Charles Barker. Salman Rushdie made his debut as a novelist with "Grimus" in the year 1974. After remaining in hiding for many years, Salman Rushdie came out recently. In 2004, Rushdie married for the fourth time, this time to prominent Indian model and actress Padma Lakshmi.

Amartya Sen
Amitav Ghosh
Anita Desai
Arun Netravali
Balamurali Ambati
Bhiku Parekh
Chitranjan S. Ranawat
Deepak Chopra
Dipak C. Jain
Gurinder Chadha
Gururaj Deshpande
The Hinduja Brothers
Ismail Merchant
Prof Jagdish N. Bhagwati
L.N. Mittal
Madhur Jaffrey
M. Arunachalam
Mira Nair
Manoj Night Shyamalan
Rajiv Gupta
Rohinton Mistry
Sabeer Bhatia
Salman Rushdie
Sam Pitroda
Shashi Tharoor
Lord Swaraj Paul
Vikram Seth
Vinod Dahm
Vinod Khosla