5:16 pm - Wednesday May 23, 8108


Deputy Superintendent Mallavarapu Louru Thomas

Period : 24 July 1948

This medal was awarded for acts of bravery by members of the Indian Police.

This represents a continuation of the pre-Independence colonial medal into the period of time when India was a dominion, 1947-50.

Established: By a Royal Warrant of 23 February 1932, revised December 1944 into medals for gallantry and distinguished service. The extension of award under the Dominion of India was authorized by a Royal Warrant of 1 May 1948. The medal became obsolete in March 1951 when the Police Medal for Gallantry was created.

Obverse: Circular 36-mm bronze. The crowned head of King George VI, facing left. There is some question whether the medal was ever issued with the post-1947 royal titles; both versions are listed below. Suspended by a straight-bar suspender and named on the edge.

Reverse: Within a crowned wreath, the words "INDIAN / POLICE" and on a ribbon tying the sides of the wreath "FOR GALLANTRY".

Ribbon: 34 mm, dark blue with a 10 mm medium red central stripes, 5 mm white edge stripes and a 1 mm stripe just in from these edge stripes. White 5 mm, dark blue 3 mm, white 1 mm, dark blue 3 mm, medium red 10 mm, dark blue 3 mm, white 1 mm, dark blue 3 mm, white 5 mm.

Awards: From 1948 to 1950, the medal was awarded eight-one times. During this same time period, two bars for second awards were made (presumably to pre-1947 medals?), to Deputy Superintendent Mallavarapu Louru Thomas (24 July 1948) and to Superintendent Shri S. A. Thomas (29 October 1949).


George VI, first title - "GEORGIVS VI D: G: BR: OMN: REX ET INDIAE IMP:" - this was standard issue from 1937-48 and may have been carried over into the post-independence period?

George VI, second title - "GEORGIVS VI DEI GRA: BRITT: OMN: REX FID: DEF: Æ" - this may have been issued in the 1947-51 period?


Other Categories

Deputy Superintendent Mallavarapu Louru Thomas

Main Categories

Param Vir Chakra
Ashoka Chakra
Maha Vir Chakra
Kirti Chakra
Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vir Chakra
Shaurya Chakra
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Gallantry
Sena Medal