2:28 am - Sunday June 23, 2024


Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak

Period : 30 September 1961

Awarded to civilians to recognize acts of lifesaving, including cases of drowning, fire, or mine accidents "for conspicuous courage under circumstances of very great danger to the life of the rescue." The only cases in which members of the armed forces, police, or fire services can be awarded the medal is when such acts take place outside the course of their duty. The medal may be awarded posthumously and subsequent awards are recognized by the addition of a bar to the medal ribbon.

Like many other Indian awards, the Sarvottam Jeevan Rakash Padak was originally established as a part of a three-class decoration, the Jeevan Rakash Padak in 1961. The first class of this award was renamed at the Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak in 19??.

Established: By the President of India, 30 September 1961, as the "Jeevan Raksha Padak, Class I." Statutes revised and decoration renamed ???.

Obverse: A 58-mm circular gold medal with, in the center, a hand in the Abhai Mudra and, above "Ma Bhai" and below "???" or "Jevan Rakash Padak" (1961-19??) or "???" "Sarvottam Jeevan Rakash Padak" (after 19??).

Reverse: The state emblem.

Ribbon: 32 mm red with light blue edge stripes and a green center stripe; 4 mm light blue, ?? mm red, 1 mm green, ?? mm red, 4 mm light blue. These colors are said to symbolize fire (red), water (blue), and life (green).


  • Jeevan Raksha Padak, Class One (1961-??)

  • Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak (19??--)


Other Categories

Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak

Main Categories

Param Vir Chakra
Ashoka Chakra
Maha Vir Chakra
Kirti Chakra
Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak
Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
Vir Chakra
Shaurya Chakra
President's Police and Fire Services Medal for Gallantry
Sena Medal