5:16 pm - Tuesday May 23, 4513

Election Results 2014: BJP Leads in All 7 Seats in Delhi

716 Viewed Gautam Comments Off on Election Results 2014: BJP Leads in All 7 Seats in Delhi

New Delhi: As the Narendra Modi-led BJP looked set to form India’s next government shortly after the counting of votes began on Friday, the party took an early lead in all seven parliamentary seats in Delhi.

The Congress, which won all seven seats in 2009, looked set for an exact reversal of its tally. In even worse news for the party, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which had performed spectacularly in the December Delhi election, was the second party in most seats.

The BJP’s Delhi chief Harsh Vardhan was ahead in the Chandni Chowk constituency, where he had challenged Congress MP Kapil Sibal. AAP’s Ashutosh was Harsh Vardhan’s closest rival.

Harsh Vardhan, who was also his party’s chief ministerial candidate in the state elections, was seen dancing with supporters in celebration.

The BJP’s Mahesh Giri, an Art of Living instructor, was leading in East Delhi over Congress MP Sandeep Dikshit, who has won the seat since 2004.

Mr Dikshit had admitted yesterday, “I am unlikely to win.” He blamed it on anti-incumbency.

In the New Delhi constituency, Meenakshi Lekhi of the BJP was leading over AAP’s Ashish Khaitan. The seat is held by Congress MP Ajay Maken.

In the South Delhi constituency, BJP’s Ramesh Bidhuri was leading against AAP candidate Devinder Sehrawat.

The BJP’s Parvesh Verma was leading by a huge margin in West Delhi constituency against AAP’s Jarnail Singh.

In North East Delhi seat, BJP candidate Manoj Tiwari was leading over AAP’s Anand Kumar.

Udit Raj of BJP was ahead in North West Delhi constituency against AAP’s Rakhi Birla.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision India News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in

Google doodle salutes Indian election

New Supreme Court bench to hear Sebi-Sahara case

Related posts