2:18 am - Sunday September 23, 2018

English Out. Government Gives In on Civil Services Exam (CSAT-II)

275 Viewed Alka Anand Singh Comments Off on English Out. Government Gives In on Civil Services Exam (CSAT-II)

IndiaVision – English marks in CSAT-II will not be included for gradation or merit and 2011 candidates may get a second chance to appear for the test next year, the government announced in the Lok Sabha on Monday seeking to defuse the UPSC row that has seen the aspirants on the warpath.

“Government is of the opinion that in the Civil Services Preliminary examination, Paper-II, the marks of the question section on ‘English Language comprehension skills’ should not be included for gradation or merit,” Minister of State for Personnel Jitendra Singh said seeking to mollify the agitating candidates.

In a brief statement Mr. Singh said, “Candidates, who appeared in Civil Services Examination 2011, may be given one more attempt in 2015.”

Parliament has witnessed repeated uproar and several adjournments in the past few days over the issue.

Immediately after the statement, B. Mahtab (BJD) and Dharmendra Yadav (SP) stood up demanding clarification whether Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) has been done away with.

However, the Minister stood up to say that he has said whatever he wanted to.

Earlier, opposition had demanded in the Rajya Sabha a definite time-frame from government to resolve the issue and served a privilege notice, forcing adjournment of the House.

Raising the issue during Zero Hour, Sharad Yadav (JD-U) accused the government of “going back on its promise” of resolving the issue expeditiously.

The students have been demanding that the pattern of CSAT be changed to give level-playing field to those coming from rural areas.

There are two compulsory papers of 200 marks each in the preliminary examination. These papers are also known as CSAT-I and CSAT-II.

The CSAT-II paper carries questions on comprehension, inter-personal skills including communication skills, logical reasoning and analytical ability, decision-making and problem- solving, general mental ability, basic numeracy, and English language comprehension skills (of Class X level).

Students have been objecting to the level of aptitude and English language questions being asked in the examination claiming they are much above the standard prescribed for the examination.

The civil services examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) in three stages — preliminary, main, and interview — to choose candidates for Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and Indian Police Service (IPS), among others.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in

UPSC exam row creates turmoil in Parliament

MHA seeks more info from CBI on Ishrat fake encounter case

Related posts