1:16 pm - Monday May 27, 2024

Nagaland Lok Sabha polls on April 9

758 Viewed Alka Anand Singh Comments Off on Nagaland Lok Sabha polls on April 9

Nagaland goes to the polls on Wednesday for the lone Parliamentary seat which will see only three candidates — Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio (NPF), Congress’ KV Pusa and Akheu Achumi of Socialist Party (India) in the race.

An electorate of 11,79,881 will be eligible to cast their votes.

There are 2059 polling stations spread across 60 Assembly constituencies in 12 districts, including Pughoboto sub-division, which is counted as an electoral district.

The Election Commission has categorised 1475 polling stations as normal, 407 as vulnerable and 177 as critical.

A total of 33 companies of central armed police force have been deployed for peaceful conduct of the elections.

The forces include seven companies of Mizoram Armed Police, 10 companies of Tripura State Rifles, eight companies of CRPF and eight companies of BSF.

The Nagaland Armed Police, IR Battalion and around 2200 village guards would also be deployed on polling day.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision India News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in

BJP stresses good governance

US court asks Sonia to respond to 1984 case by Jan 2

Congress president Sonia Gandhi declines to show her passport to U.S. court

Related posts