1:50 pm - Saturday April 20, 2024

Telangana Council chairman, Protem Speaker sworn in

568 Viewed Alka Anand Singh Comments Off on Telangana Council chairman, Protem Speaker sworn in

Telangana Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan on Monday administered oath to the Legislative Council vice-chairman Nethi Vidyasagar as the Chairman and to K. Jana Reddy as Protem Speaker at a simple function in Raj Bhavan.

As the two Houses of Telangana Legislature meet here in a few hours, Governor administered oath to Mr. Vidyasagar, who is the vice-chairman of the 40-member Legislative Council. Mr. Jana Reddy, who is the senior most MLA in the Telangana Assembly was also administered oath by the Governor for the 119 member House. He represents Nagarjunasagar Assembly constituency in Nalgonda district and was also the longest serving Minister in the united Andhra Pradesh for 16 years.

Mr. Jana Reddy will administer oath to all the newly elected MLAs of the Telangana Assembly from 11 am onwards. The MLCs will be administered oath once again as they are already members of the Upper House.

Telangana Chief Minister K.Chandrasekhar Rao and his cabinet colleagues and representatives of the political parties were present at the swearing in ceremony.

Meanwhile, Legislative Assembly was decked up for the occasion as the newly elected MLAs are scheduled to take oath. A complete security blanket was thrown around the Assembly premises. The Martyrs’ memorial opposite the Assembly was decked up as the legislators are expected to pay their homage before proceeding to the Assembly.

In the 119-member Assembly, TRS has 63 members, Congress 21, TDP-BJP 20, MIM – seven, YSR Congress – three, BSP – two, Others including independents – two.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision India News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in

Kudankulam (NPCIL) reactor attains full capacity

Left Front team to meet Mamata today

Related posts