3:41 am - Sunday July 21, 2019

Bhuvneshwar among players nominated LG People’s Choice Award

247 Viewed Gautam Comments Off on Bhuvneshwar among players nominated LG People’s Choice Award
Bhuvneshwar Kumar : Series win will lift morale ahead of South Africa tour
Bhuvneshwar Kumar : Series win will lift morale ahead of South Africa tour

Promising India medium pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has emerged as one of the five players nominated for the LGPeople’s Choice Award ahead of the ICC annual awards.

The 24-year-old bowler from Meerut has had a good run in international cricket in recent times.

This year’s fifth LG People’s Choice Award sees five players from five different countries nominated to win the only award voted for by the public.

The quintet of players nominated for the award are Englandwomen’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews, SouthAfrica fast bowler Dale Steyn and of course Bhuvneshwar.

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player.

The winner, as well as the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the short-list for the remaining LG ICC Awards 2014 will be announced on November 5 at a press conference at the ICC Headquarters here.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson and ICC Cricket Committee Chairman Anil Kumble will attend the press conference.

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by Kumble. Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

Richardson said: “The support of the fans is vital for the game and particularly valued by the players – hence, the significance of the LG People’s Choice award. The overwhelming number of cricket fans who participate to select the winner of this award has made it one of the most prestigious awards in the ICC calendar.

“None of the deserving nominees have won this award before and this year’s fan favourite will join the exclusive company of previous winners, Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Kumar Sangakkara (2011 and 2012) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2013).

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.

MS Dhoni joins ISL bandwagon, unveiled as Chennaiyin co-owner

Gavaskar: Bowlers with suspect action should be taken off immediately

Related posts