8:58 pm - Monday May 20, 2024

Ashes: England fold up for 136 in reply to Australia’s 295

530 Viewed News Editor Comments Off on Ashes: England fold up for 136 in reply to Australia’s 295
Ashes Test: Engl and shot out for 136
Ashes Test: Engl and shot out for 136

Pacemen Mitchell Johnson and Ryan Harris led the carnage to skittle England for 136 on Friday, giving Australia a 159—run first innings lead in the opening Ashes test.

Johnson took 4—61 and Harris returned 3—28 as England were bowled out in 52.4 overs including a collapse of six wickets for nine runs in the middle, less than five hours after dismissing Australia for 295 on the second morning at the Gabba.

Opener Michael Carberry was the top scorer for England in his second test with 40 and Stuart Broad, the pantomime villain for the local crowd, scored 32 to go with his six-wicket haul earlier in the match.


Australia: 295 all out (Brad Haddin 94, Mitchell Johnson 64; Stuart Broad 6—81)

England: 136 all out (Michael Carberry 40, Stuart Broad 32; Mitchell Johnson 4—61, Ryan Harris 3—28)

Chris Rogers c Bell b Broad 1

David Warner c Pietersen b Broad 49

Shane Watson c Swann b Broad 22

Michael Clarke c Bell b Broad 1

Steve Smith c Cook b Tremlett 31

George Bailey c Cook b Anderson 3

Brad Haddin run out 94

Mitchell Johnson b Broad 64

Peter Siddle c Cook b Anderson 7

Ryan Harris c Prior b Broad 9

Nathan Lyon not out 1

Extras: (11lb,1nb,1w) 13

TOTAL: (all out) 295

Overs: 97.1. Batting time- 419 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-12, 2-71, 3-73, 4-83, 5-100, 6-132, 7-246, 8-265, 9-282, 10-295

Bowling: Jimmy Anderson 25.1-5-67-2, Stuart Broad 24-3-81-6 (1nb,1w), Chris Tremlett 19-3-51-1, Graeme Swann 26-4-80-0, Joe Root 3-1-5-0.

Alastair Cook c Haddin b Harris 13

Michael Carberry c Watson b Johnson 40

Jonathan Trott c Haddin b Johnson 10

Kevin Pietersen c Bailey b Harris 18

Ian Bell c Smith b Lyon 5

Joe Root c Smith b Johnson 2

Matt Prior c Smith b Lyon 0

Stuart Broad c Rogers b Siddle 32

Graeme Swann c Bailey b Johnson 0

Chris Tremlett c Lyon b Harris 8

Jimmy Anderson not out 2

Extras: (4b,2lb) 6

TOTAL: (all out) 136

Overs: 52.4. Batting time- 250 minutes.

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-55, 3-82, 4-87, 5-87, 6-87, 7-89, 8-91, 9-110, 10-132.

Bowling: Ryan Harris 15-5-28-3, Mitchell Johnson 17-2-61-4, Peter Siddle 11.4-3-24-1, Nathan Lyon 9-4-17-2.

Toss: won by Australia

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan, and Kumar Dharmasena, Sri Lanka.

Third umpire: Marais Erasmus, South Africa. ICC match referee- Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision India News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in
Raina, Jadeja spin Windies out for 211

Raina, Jadeja spin Windies out for 211

Ashes Test: Engl and shot out for 136

Ashes Test: Engl and shot out for 136

Related posts