4:06 pm - Friday January 18, 2019

Former India captain Kapil Dev to get C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award

159 Viewed Jacob Martin Comments Off on Former India captain Kapil Dev to get C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award

Chennai – Former India captain Kapil Dev has been nominated for the C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

“The Board’s award committee, comprising its president N. Srinivasan, secretary Sanjay Patel and senior journalist Ayaz Memon, met here Wednesday to nominate a winner. It was unanimously decided to nominate Mr. Kapil Dev Nikhanj for the award,” said a BCCI statement.

Kapil was the first player to complete the ‘double’ of 5,000 runs and 400 wickets in Tests. In an illustrious career that commenced in 1978 and concluded in 1994, he represented India in 131 Tests, from which he took 434 wickets. He also scored 5,248 runs, inclusive of eight centuries. He played 225 ODIs, in which he took 253 wickets and scored 3,783 runs.

His most memorable contribution to Indian cricket was leading the team to victory in the 1983 World Cup.

As captain, Kapil led from the front, with bat, ball and in the field, as the Indian cricket team won the sport’s ultimate prize for the very first time.

His match-winning 175 in a league encounter against Zimbabwe, wherein he rescued India from a perilous 9-4 that became 17-5, is part of cricketing folklore.

He struck with the ball at critical stages, right through the tournament, and held two crucial catches – those of Viv Richards and Clive Lloyd – in the final against the West Indies.

His other significant achievement as captain of India was the `2-0` Test series win in England, in 1986.

Kapil’s temperament and tenacity overshadowed his talent. He produced his best in crisis situations. He overcame an injured thigh to take 5-28 against Australia at Melbourne in 1980-81, which took India to a famous series-levelling win.

His 119 against the same team at Chennai in 1986-87, steered India out of a tight spot, and set up only the second Tied Test in the history of the sport.

Against England at Lord’s in 1990, with India needing 24 to avoid the follow-on, and the number eleven batsman at the other end, he proceeded to hit off-spinner Eddie Hemmings for four consecutive sixes.

He had a stint as coach of the Indian team in 1999-00, and served as chairman of the National Cricket Academy in 2006-07.

He will receive the C.K. Nayudu award, which comprises a trophy, citation and a cheque for Rs.25 lakh, at the BCCI Awards Ceremony, the details of which will be announced soon.

The award, named after India’s first Test captain, is given to individuals whose contribution to the sport, on and off the field, is unparalleled.

The previous winners of the award:

1994 – Lala Amarnath
1995 – Syed Mushtaq Ali
1996 – Capt. Vijay Hazare
1997 – K.N. Prabhu
1998 – Polly R. Umrigar
1999 – Col. Hemachandra Adhikari
2000 – Subhash Gupte
2001 – Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi
2002 – Bhausaheb Nimbalkar
2003 – Chandrakant Borde
2004 – B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, E.A.S. Prasanna, and S. Venkataraghvan
2007 – Nariman Contractor
2008 – Gundappa Viswanath
2009 – Mohinder Amarnath
2010 – Salim Durani
2011 – Ajit Wadekar
2012 – Sunil Gavaskar

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.

India’s weighty issues

Abbey Clancy, Coleen Rooney set to star in `Loose Women`

Related posts