12:55 am - Tuesday September 22, 2020

ICC awards: Mitchell Johnson wins top two accolades

302 Viewed Gautam Comments Off on ICC awards: Mitchell Johnson wins top two accolades
Johnson may become fourth Oz bowler in history to collect 40 Test wickets in England series
Johnson may become fourth Oz bowler in history to collect 40 Test wickets in England series

Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson has been named both the cricketer of the year and Test cricketer of the year by the International Cricket Council.
Johnson, 33, also won cricketer of the year in 2009 and is only the second player after Ricky Ponting to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy twice.
England batsman Gary Ballance won the emerging cricketer of the year award.
England Women wicketkeeper-batsman Sarah Taylor was named the women’s ODI cricketer of the year.During the voting period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, Johnson claimed 59 Test wickets at an average of 15.23, with best bowling figures of seven for 40 runs against England in Adelaide last December.
He is the third Australian after Ponting and Michael Clarke to win the Test cricketer prize.
In one-day internationals, Johnson took 21 wickets in 16 games.
“I’m very happy with where I am at the moment and I want to keep getting better as a cricketer,” he said.
“This is something that I’ll be able to look back on in time when my career is over and be exceptionally proud of.”
England Women’s captain Charlotte Edwards missed out on the people’s choice award, which went to India bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar.
Stuart Broad and Joe Root were named in the Test team of the year, but no England players featured in the ODI XI.
International Cricket Council awards
Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC cricketer of the year: Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Test cricketer of the year: Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
ODI cricketer of the year: AB De Villiers (SA)
Women’s ODI cricketer of the year: Sarah Taylor (Eng)
Emerging cricketer of the year: Gary Ballance (Eng)
Associate and affiliate cricketer of the year: Preston Mommsen (Scot)
Twenty20 international performance of the year: Aaron Finch (Aus) – 156 v England
ICC women’s T20I cricketer of the year: Meg Lanning (Aus)
ICC spirit of cricket award: Katherine Brunt (Eng)
ICC umpire of the year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy): Richard Kettleborough
LG people’s choice: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)
ICC Test team of the year: David Warner (Aus), Kane Williamson (NZ), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri), AB De Villiers (SA), Joe Root (Eng), Angelo Mathews (Sri) (capt), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Rangana Herath (Sri), Tim Southee (NZ). 12th man: Ross Taylor (NZ)
ICC ODI team of the year: Mohammad Hafeez (Pkn), Quinton De Kock (SA), Virat Kohli (Ind), George Bailey (Aus), AB De Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, capt & wk), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Mohammad Shami (Ind), Ajantha Mendis (SL). 12th man: Rohit Sharma (Ind)

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision India News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.

ATP World Tour Finals: Federer in the groove, Nishikori downs Murray

Saina Nehwal, Parupalli ​Kashyap, K Srikanth enter quarters of China Open

Related posts