1:12 pm - Tuesday September 25, 2018

Kapil to head Arjuna Awards selection committee

195 Viewed Gautam Comments Off on Kapil to head Arjuna Awards selection committee

Former India cricket captain Kapil Dev will head the Arjuna Awards selection committee for choosing this year’s outstanding sportspersons of the country while former hockey skipper Ajitpal Singh is likely to be in charge of selecting the Dronacharya awardees.

“Yes, Kapil Dev will be heading the Arjuna Awards committee,” sports secretary Ajit Sharan said.

While Kapil, who bagged 434 wickets in 131 Tests in his 16-year-long career, got the Arjuna award in 1980, former Olympian Ajitpal was conferred the award in 1970, and awarded it in 1972.

A source in the sports ministry said the government had issued a notification in writing to all persons concerned. The awards will be conferred on National Sports Day which is August 29.

The ministry has already received several nominations from various federations.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in

Xavi retires from national team

India in England: Mahendra Singh Dhoni Three Defeats Away From Equalling Brian Lara, Stephen Fleming’s Test Record

Related posts