9:30 pm - Wednesday June 12, 2024

Vice Presidents

Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari

The Vice President of India is the second-highest office in India, after the President.[2] Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that there shall be a Vice-President of India.
The Ex-officio Vice President shall be perform as Vice President in absent of President due to the death,resignation, impeachment, or other situations.
The Ex-officio Vice President of India r Chairperson of the Rajya Sabha

  Name: Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari
  Father's Name: Shri Mohammad Abdul Aziz Ansari
  Mother's Name: Smt. Aasiya Begum
  Date of Birth: 1 April 1937
  Place of Birth: Calcutta
  Marital Status: Married
  Spouse's Name: Smt. Salma Ansari
  Children: Two sons and one daughter
  Educational Qualifications : BA (Hons); MA (Political Science)
  Address: Vice-President's House,
6, Maulana Azad Road,
New Delhi - 110 011
Telephone - 011-23016422, 23016344
E-mail: vpindia@nic.in

  Positions Held :
  • Joined the Indian Foreign Service (IFS) in 1961 and served in Indian missions in Baghdad, Rabat, Jeddah and Brussels;
  • Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates (1976-1979);
  • Chief of Protocol to Govt. of India (1980-1985);
  • High Commissioner to Australia (1985-1989);
  • Ambassador to Afghanistan (1989-1990);
  • Ambassador to Iran (1990-1992);
  • Permanent Representative to the UN, New York (1993-1995);
  • Ambassador to Saudi Arabia (1995-1999);
  • Visiting Professor, Centre for West Asian and African Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (Dec 1999-May 2000);
  • Vice-Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh (2000-2002);
  • Distinguished Fellow at the Observer Research Foundation, New Delhi (2002-2006);
  • Visiting Professor, Academy for Third World Studies, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi (2003-2005);
  • Co - Chairman, India-U.K. Round Table (2004-2006);
  • Member, National Security Advisory Board (2004-2006);
  • Chairman, Advisory Committee for Oil Diplomacy, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (2004-2005);
  • Chairman, Working Group on 'Confidence building measures across segments of society in the State', established by the second Round Table Conference of the Prime Minister on Jammu and Kashmir, held at Srinagar, 24-25 May, 2006; the report of the Working Group was adopted by the 3rd Round Table held at New Delhi, 24 April 2007;
  • Chairman, Fifth Statutory National Commission for Minorities (March 2006-July 2007);
  • Vice President of India and ex officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha since 11th August 2007.

  Books Published :

Edited, Iran Today: Twenty Five Years After the Islamic Revolution, New Delhi, 2005; has written several academic papers and newspaper articles on West Asian Politics.


  Awards: Padma Shri (1984)

  Sports: Golf and Cricket

  Institutes/Clubs: India International Centre
Institute of Defence Studies and Analysis (IDSA)
United Services Institution
Delhi Golf Club
Delhi Gymkhana Club
Noida Golf Club

  Countries Visited: Visited many countries during the diplomatic and academic career.    

Other Categories

Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
Shri Krishan Kant
Shri K. R. Narayanan
Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma
Shri R. Venkataraman
Shri M. Hidayatullah
Shri B. D. Jatti
Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak
Shri V. V. Giri
Dr. Zakir Hussain
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan