9:39 pm - Wednesday June 12, 2024

Vice Presidents

Shri K. R. Narayanan

Born in Perumthanam, Uzhavoor village, in the princely state of Travancore (present day Kottayam district, Kerala),
and after a brief stint with journalism and then studying political science at the London School of Economics with the assistance of a scholarship,
Narayanan began his career in India as a member of the Indian Foreign Service in the Nehru administration.

M. A. (English Literature), First Class First, University of Travancore, Kera!a, B.Sc. (Economics), First Class Honours, London School of Economics;
Born on: October 27, 1920
Father's Name: Shri Kocheril Ramari Vaidyan
Spouse's Name: Shrimati Usha Narayanan
Positions Held:
Lecturer. University of Travancore, 1943,
Journalist with 'The Hindu' Madras and 'Times of India' Bombay, 1944-45;
London Correspondent of 'Social Welfare'-a weekly from Bombay edited by Shri K.M, Munshi, 1945-48;
Joined the Indian Foreign Service, 1949 and served with the Indian Missions in Rangoon, Tokyo. London, Australia and Hanoi and held different positions in the Ministry of External Affairs including its Secretary.
Taught Economic Administration at Delhi School of Economics from 1954 to 1955 and headed the Oriental Centre for Foreign Technicians;

India's Ambassador to :

Thailand, 1967 to 1969
Turkey, 1973-1975
The People's Republic of China, 1976-1978; and
United States of America, 1980-1984

Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs, 1976
Vice-Chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University 1979-80

Member of Indian delegation to :

(i) United Nations General Assembly, 1979.
(ii) U.N. Security Council in November 1985 on Nambian Independence,
(iii) Conference of Non-aligned Nations at Harare in 1986;and
(iv) Special Session of the U.N. General Assembly in May 1986 on the critical situation in Africa.
Elected to Lok Sabha, 1984, 1989 and 1991.

Union Minister for :

( i) Planning, 1985.
(ii) External Affairs. 1985-86
(iii) Science and Technology, Atomic Energy, Space, Electronics and Ocean Development
Vice-President of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, 1986-89

Member/Honorary Fellow of :

The Universal Academy of Cultures, Pans
London School of Economics, London
Jawaharial Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore; and
Centre for Development Studies Kerala

Recipient of :

Doctor of Science {Honoris Causa), University of Toledo, USA
Doctor of Laws (Honoris Causa), Australian National University, Canberra
Australian National University has instituted an annual "K.R. Narayanan Oration". Jawaharlal Nehru Fellowship in 1970-72 of study of Nehru's Non-alignment.

President of:

(i) Indian Institute of Public Administration; and
(ii) Ramakrishna Mission Institute.

Chancellor of :

» Delhi University,
» Panjab University,
» Pondicherry University,
» Assam University,
» North-Eastern Hill University; and
» Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University);

Visitor of:

Makhanlal Chaturvedi Rashtriya Patrakarita Vishwavidyala Sansthan, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.

Chairman of :

Jury of the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding,
International Jury for the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development,
The Advisory Committee for the Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award,
The Jury for International Gandhi Award for Leprosy,
The Jury for Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar,
The Jury for Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Award for Social Understanding and Upliftment of Weaker Sections,
The Jury for Dr. Ambedkar International Award for Social Change; and
Jury for G.D. Birla Awards for Humanism, India's Heritage and Culture and Rural Upliftment;

Author of :

(i) "India and America. Essays in Understanding",
(ii) "Images and Insights" and
(iii) ''Non-alignment in Contemporary International Relations" (Joint Authorship)

Vice-President of India and ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha from 21.8.92 to 24.7.97;
President of India from 25.7.97 to 25.7.2002
Died on 9-11-2005.


Other Categories

Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
Shri Krishan Kant
Shri K. R. Narayanan
Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma
Shri R. Venkataraman
Shri M. Hidayatullah
Shri B. D. Jatti
Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak
Shri V. V. Giri
Dr. Zakir Hussain
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan