8:48 pm - Wednesday June 12, 2024

Vice Presidents

Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

He served in that position from August 2002, when he was elected to a five-year term by the electoral college following the death of Krishan ant,
until he resigned on July 21, 2007, after losing the presidential election to Pratibha Patil.Shekhawat was a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), a leading member of the National Democratic Alliance at the time of election.
He served as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan three times, from 1977 to 1980, 1990 to 1992 and 1993 to 1998.

Father's Name: Late Shri Devi Singh Shekhawat
Mother's Name: Late Smt. Bane Kanwar
Date of Birth: 23rd October 1923
Place of Birth: Village Khachariawas, District Sikar (Rajasthan)
Marital Status: Married
Spouse's Name: Smt. Suraj Kanwar
Children: One daughter
Profession: Farmer and Agriculturist
Permanent Address: 72, Gaurav Nagar,
Civil Lines,
Jaipur - 302 006
Telephone - 0141-2225487
Present Address: 31, Aurangzeb Road,
New Delhi.
Positions Held :


1952-1972 Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly;
1974-1977 Member, Rajya Sabha (Council of States);
1977-2002 Member, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly;
22nd June 1977 - 15th February 1980 Chief Minister of Rajasthan (First term);
15th July 1980 - 30thDecember 1989 Leader of the Opposition, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly;
4th March 1990 - 15th December 1992 Chief Minister of Rajasthan (Second term);
4th December 1993 - 1st December 1998 Chief Minister of Rajasthan (Third term);
8th January 1999 - 18th August 2002 Leader of the Opposition, Rajasthan Legislative Assembly; and
19th August 2002 - 21st July 2007 Vice-President of India and ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha.

Other Categories

Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
Shri Krishan Kant
Shri K. R. Narayanan
Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma
Shri R. Venkataraman
Shri M. Hidayatullah
Shri B. D. Jatti
Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak
Shri V. V. Giri
Dr. Zakir Hussain
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan