10:17 pm - Wednesday June 12, 2024

Vice Presidents

Dr. Zakir Hussain

Hussain was the country's first Muslim president. He previously served as Governor of Bihar from 1957 to 1962 and as Vice President of India from 1962 to 1967.
Zakir Hussain was also co-founder of Jamia Milia Islamia, serving as its Vice Chancellor from 1928. Under Hussain, Jamia became closely associated with the Indian freedom movement. He was awarded the Bharat Ratna, India's highest national honour, in 1963.

M.A., Ph.D. (Berlin), D. Litt. (Honoris Causa) (Universities of Delhi, Aligarh, Allahabad, Calcutta and Cairo)
Born on: February 8,1897
Father's Name: Shri Fida Husain
Spouse's Name: Shrimati Shahjehan Begum
Positions Held:
Vice-Chancellor of :

(i) Jamia Millia lslamia, Delhi, 1926-48; and
(ii) Aligarh Muslim University, 1948-56
President of:

Hindustani Talimi Sangh Sevagram, 1938-50
Chairman of :

(i) Basic National Education Committee, 1937
(ii) International Students Service, India Committee, 1955
(iii) World University Service, Geneva, 1955-57 and
(iv) Central Board of Secondary Education, 1957

Author of :

» Shiksha (Hindi)
» Capitalism: an essay in understanding
» Urdu translations of :
» Plato's Republic
» Fredrich List's National System of Economics and
» Edwin Cannan's Elements of Economics
» Lectures on the Scope and Method Economics (Hindustani Academy, U.P.)
» Educational Discourses (Urdu)
» Principles of Educational Reconstruction Patel Memorial Lectures
» Ethics and the State (Mavalankar Memorial Lecture)
» The Dynamic University; and
» Abbokhan Ki Bakri (Urdu)

Recipient of :

(i) Padma Vibhushan, l954; and
(ii) Bharat Ratna, 1963

Member, Rajya Sabha, 3-4-1952 to 2-4-1956 and 3-4-1956 to 6-7-1957
Governor of Bihar, 1957-62
Vice-President of India and ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha, 13-5-1962 to 12-5-1967;
President of India, 13-5-1967 to 3-5-1969
Died on 3-5-1969.


Other Categories

Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
Shri Krishan Kant
Shri K. R. Narayanan
Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma
Shri R. Venkataraman
Shri M. Hidayatullah
Shri B. D. Jatti
Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak
Shri V. V. Giri
Dr. Zakir Hussain
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan