10:53 pm - Wednesday June 12, 2024

Vice Presidents

Shri Krishan Kant

Kant's first brush with politics came when he plunged into the Quit India movement, while he was still a student in Lahore.
He took part in the Indian Independence Movement as a youth and continued to be involved in politics,eventually being elected to Parliament of India.
He was part of the "Young Turk" brigade of Indian National Congress party during the time of Indira Gandhi.

M.Sc. (Technology) from the Banaras Hindu University, he worked as a Scientist with the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, New Delhi.
Born on: February 28, 1927
Father's Name: Lala Achint Ram
Spouse's Name: Shrimati Suman Krishan Kant
Positions Held:
Member of :

Rajya Sabha, from 1966 -1977
Lok Sabha 1977-1980

Secretary of :

The Indian Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, of which Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was the President and Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri was the Chairman. (He was the Editor of the Quarterly Journal "Science in Parliament".)

Chairman of :

Committee on Railway Reservations and Bookings, 1972 -1976.

Founder General Secretary of :

The People's Union for Civil Liberties and Democratic Rights in 1976.

He held prominent offices in the Parliamentary and Organisational wings of Congress Party and later the Janata Party and the Janata Dal.

He was a member of the Executive Council, for several years, of the Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses.

Governor of:

» Andhra Pradesh,7.2.1990- 21.8.1997
» Tamil Naidu, 22.12.1996- 25.1.1997(Additional Charge)

Chancellor of :

» Delhi University,
» Panjab University,
» Pondicherry University,
» Assam University,
» North-Eastern Hill University and
» Gandhigram Rural Institute (Deemed University);

Chairman of :

Jury of the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding,
International Jury for the Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development,
The Advisory Committee for the Rajiv Gandhi Sadbhavana Award,
The Jury for International Gandhi Award for Leprosy,
The Jury for Indira Gandhi Paryavaran Puraskar,
The Jury for Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Award for Social Understanding and Upliftment of Weaker Sections,
The Jury for Dr. Ambedkar International Award for Social Change.

Vice-President of India and ex-officio Chairman, Rajya Sabha from 21.8.1997 to 27.7.2002.
Died on 27-07-2002(In Office).


Other Categories

Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat
Shri Krishan Kant
Shri K. R. Narayanan
Dr. Shanker Dayal Sharma
Shri R. Venkataraman
Shri M. Hidayatullah
Shri B. D. Jatti
Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak
Shri V. V. Giri
Dr. Zakir Hussain
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan