8:01 am - Wednesday January 16, 2019

Congress to retain power in Mizoram

160 Viewed News Editor Comments Off on Congress to retain power in Mizoram
Lal Thanhawla sworn-in Mizoram CM
Lal Thanhawla sworn-in Mizoram CM

Aizawl – The ruling Congress is poised to win the Mizoram assembly polls, as it has won 17 seats so far in the 40 member state assembly.

According to latest trends, Congress is leading in another nine seats, while the Mizo National Front (MNF) is leading in three seats and has won two seats.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress defeated his nearest Mizoram Democratic Alliance’s candidate and three terms former MLA Lalramzuava by a margin of 734 votes in the Serchhip reserved constituency.

Congress leader and Minister for Food and Civil Supplies H. Rohluna has won the Lengteng reserved constituency defeating his nearest MDA candidate L. Thangmawia by a narrow margin of over 100 votes.

Counting of votes cast in the November 25 elections in Mizoram has begun here this morning amidst tight security.

The Director General of Election Commission of India, Ashish Srivastava, and several observers are in capital Aizawl to supervise the process.

The fate of 142 candidates, including six women will be decided today. The ruling Congress has contested all 40 seats, as has the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA).

MDA constituent Mizo National Front (MNF) has contested in 31, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) in eight and Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) contested in one seat.

The Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) fielded candidates in 38 seats, while the BJP has contested 17 seats.

Don't miss the stories followIndiaVision News & Information and let's be smart!
0/5 - 0
You need login to vote.
Filed in
Unfair games being played between people and AAP: Yogendra Yadav

Unfair games being played between people and AAP: Yogendra Yadav

Special status for Bihar in cold storage due to politics: Nitish Kumar

BJP will get a shock in 2014 elections: Nitish Kumar

Related posts